#### COUNCIL

#### **THURSDAY, 5 JUNE 2014**

#### **DECISIONS**

Set out below is a summary of the decisions taken at the meeting of the Council held on Thursday, 5 June 2014. The wording used does not necessarily reflect the actual wording that will appear in the minutes.

If you have any queries about any matters referred to in this decision sheet please contact Graham Watts.

#### **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL 2014/15**

Council **RESOLVED** that Councillor David Bard be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2014/15 Civic Year.

#### **APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL 2014/15**

Council **RESOLVED** that Councillor Sue Ellington be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2014/15 Civic Year.

## **SOUTH CAMBS LTD: APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR (CABINET 8 MAY 2014)**

Council **APPROVED** the re-appointment of Stephen Hills as Director of South Cambs Ltd for a further 12 months alongside his role as Director of Housing for the Council.

## ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES, ALLOCATION OF SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS FOR 2014/15

#### Council APPROVED:

(a) The allocation of seats on committees and joint bodies, as follows:

Committee	No. of seats	Conservatives	Liberal Democrats	Independents
Civic Affairs	13	8	3	2
Corporate Governance	8	5	2	1
Employment	8	5	2	1
Licensing	15	9	4	2
Planning	13	9	3	1
Partnerships Review	9	6	2	1
Scrutiny and Overview	9	6	2	1
Total	75	48	18	9

Joint Committee	No. of seats	Conservatives	Liberal Democrats	Independents
Joint Development Control – Cambridge Fringes	6	4	1	1
Northstowe Joint Development Control	6	4	1	1

The nominations of the political group leaders to seats on committees and joint bodies, as set out below: (b)

### Civic Affairs Committee

Conservatives David Bard Kevin Cuffley Simon Edwards Alison Elcox Sue Ellington Ray Manning Bunty Waters See Non-Group	Liberal Democrats Sebastian Kindersley Bridget Smith Jim Stewart	Independent Group Douglas de Lacey Deborah Roberts	Non-Group Nigel Cathcart (Seat offered by the Conservatives)

### Substitutes in hierarchical list:

Conservatives	<b>Liberal Democrats</b>	<b>Independent Group</b>
Raymond Matthews	Jose Hales	Neil Davies
James Hockney	Janet Lockwood	Edd Stonham
Roger Hall		Neil Scarr
Charles Nightingale		Robin Page
Tony Orgee		

Corporate Governance Committee

Corporate Governance Committee				
Conservatives	<b>Liberal Democrats</b>	Independent Group		
Richard Barrett	Bridget Smith	Douglas de Lacey		
Francis Burkitt	John Williams			
Andrew Fraser				
David McCraith				
Peter Topping				

Substitutes in hierard	chical list:		
Conservatives	<b>Liberal Democrats</b>	<b>Independent Group</b>	Non-Group
Charles Nightingale	Philippa Hart	See Non-Group	Nigel Cathcart
Ben Shelton		Edd Stonham	(Seat offered by
		Neil Davies	the Independent
		Neil Scarr	Group)
		Deborah Roberts	• •

#### **Employment Committee**

Conservatives Liberal Democrats Independent Group

Simon Edwards Sebastian Kindersley Edd Stonham

Lynda Harford Jim Stewart

Caroline Hunt Alex Riley Peter Topping

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

Conservatives Liberal Democrats Independent Group

Val Barrett Bridget Smith Neil Scarr Charles Nightingale Neil Davies

> Douglas de Lacey Deborah Roberts

Licensing Committee

ConservativesLiberal DemocratsIndependent GroupNon-GroupRichard BarrettJose HalesDeborah RobertsCicely MurfittVal BarrettTumi HawkinsNeil Scarr(Seat offered by

Val BarrettTumi HawkinsNeil Scarr(Seat offered byKevin CuffleyJanet Lockwoodthe LiberalAndrew FraserSee Non-GroupDemocrats)

Roger Hall Mervyn Loynes Raymond Matthews Charles Nightingale

Alex Riley

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

ConservativesLiberal DemocratsIndependent GroupAlison ElcoxAnna BradnamDouglas de LaceyDavid MorganNeil Davies

Mick Martin

Neil Davies
Edd Stonham
Robin Page

Planning Committee

ConservativesLiberal DemocratsIndependent GroupBrian BurlingAnna BradnamDeborah Roberts

Pippa Corney Tumi Hawkins

Kevin Cuffley Sebastian Kindersley Lynda Harford Caroline Hunt

Caroline Hunt
David McCraith
Tim Scott
Ben Shelton
Robert Turner

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

Conservatives Liberal Democrats Independent Group

David Bard Hazel Smith Neil Scarr
Val Barrett Aidan Van De Weyer Douglas de Lacey

Charles Nightingale Jose Hales Neil Davies
Philippa Hart Edd Stonham
Peter Johnson

Partnerships Review Committee

Conservatives

**Liberal Democrats Independent Group** 

David Bard

Jose Hales Janet Lockwood **Neil Scarr** 

Andrew Fraser

Roger Hall James Hockney Tony Orgee Ben Shelton

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

Conservatives

**Liberal Democrats** Independent Group **Bunty Waters Bridget Smith** Alison Elcox

**Deborah Roberts** Aidan Van De Weyer Douglas de Lacey

Tumi Hawkins

**Neil Davies** Edd Stonham

Scrutiny and Overview Committee

Conservatives David Bard

**Liberal Democrats** Jose Hales Philippa Hart

**Independent Group** Douglas de Lacey

Alison Elcox Lynda Harford

Roger Hickford David Morgan **Bunty Waters** 

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

**Liberal Democrats Conservatives** 

Andrew Fraser Roger Hall Kevin Cuffley

**Bridget Smith** Anna Bradnam Henry Batchelor **Independent Group** Edd Stonham Neil Scarr **Neil Davies Deborah Roberts** Robin Page

**Northstowe Joint Development Control Committee** 

Conservatives

Hazel Smith

**Liberal Democrats** Independent Group **Edd Stonham** 

**Brian Burling** Lynda Harford Alex Riley

Tim Wotherspoon

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

Conservatives **Liberal Democrats** Independent Group Simon Edwards

Aidan Van De Weyer Neil Davies

Douglas de Lacey Ray Manning Philippa Hart

Joint Development Control Committee - Cambridge Fringes **Conservatives Liberal Democrats** Independent Group David Bard

Tom Bygott

Aidan Van De Weyer Douglas de Lacey

Charles Nightingale

Ben Shelton

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

Conservatives Liberal Democrats Independent Group

Tim Wotherspoon Janet Lockwood Edd Stonham Pippa Corney Jim Stewart Neil Davies

Northstowe Transport Working Group
Conservatives Liberal Democrats

Ray Manning Hazel Smith

Alex Riley

Substitutes in hierarchical list:

ConservativesLiberal DemocratsTim WotherspoonAidan Van De WeyerLynda HarfordJohnathan Chatfield

(c) The appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen to committees, as follows:

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Civic Affairs	David Bard	Kevin Cuffley
Corporate Governance	Francis Burkitt	David McCraith
Employment	Alex Riley	Peter Topping
Licensing	Andrew Fraser	Richard Barrett
Planning	Robert Turner	Lynda Harford
Partnerships Review	Ben Shelton	James Hockney
Scrutiny and Overview	Roger Hickford	Jose Hales

(d) The appointments of Grant Osbourn as the Council's lead independent person and Gillian Holmes as the deputy independent person.

# APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES, JOINT & OTHER MEMBER BODIES FOR 2014/15

Council APPROVED the below appointments to outside bodies:

Name of body	Representative(s)
Cambridgeshire & Peterborough Association of Local Councils	David McCraith
Cambridgeshire Museums Advisory Partnership	Aidan Van De Weyer
Cambridgeshire Water Forum	Tim Wotherspoon
Carers Trust Cambridgeshire	Bridget Smith
Farmland Museum Trustees	Peter Johnson
Gamlingay Village College GVC	Bridget Smith
Leisure Ltd	
Linton Voluntary Community	Henry Batchelor
Business and Premises Group	
Natural Cambridgeshire	Tim Scott
North Herts & District Citizens	Val Barrett
Advice Bureau	
South Cambs Local Health Partnership	Sue Ellington

Swavesey Byeways Advisory	Sue Ellington
Committee	_
Swavesey Internal Drainage Board	Sue Ellington
Swavesey Village College	Sue Ellington
Community Committee	
Waterbeach Level Internal Drainage	Peter Johnson
Board	

## **SCRUTINY AND OVERVIEW ANNUAL REPORT 2013/14**

Council **APPROVED** the Scrutiny and Overview Annual Report for 2013/14.